Close
Building Closed Wednesday, October 12 - The Kennedy Center will be closed ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua…
The Kennedy Center

Public Relations

Washington Post

Kennedy Center announces theater season around ‘Hamilton’

The Kennedy Center’s “Hamilton” theater season was announced Monday, with Lin-Manuel Miranda’s hip-hop phenomenon in the anchor position a little more than a year from now.

The shape of next season, which will be Deborah Rutter’s fourth as the center’s president, largely follows the 2016-17 pattern. “Hamilton” is the big dog among Broadway musical tours, always major tentpoles not just in theater terms but for the complex at large.

The 2011 “Book of Mormon” makes its third Kennedy Center visit in October, followed by the previously announced “An American in Paris” in the holiday slot and the Emilio and Gloria Estefan project “On Your Feet!” in January, all in the Opera House. In the smaller Eisenhower Theater, the John Doyle-directed revival of “The Color Purple” will run in August 2018 opposite “Hamilton,” which is booked in the Opera House from before most schools get out (June 12) until after they’re back in session (Sept. 16).

 

Press Releases

Search

Title
From
To
Sort
Tags (Select one or more)

163 PRESS RELEASES FOUND

Contacts + Media Inquiries

Email us for additional information.

Contact Us
Eileen Andrews

Eileen Andrews

Vice President, Public Relations

202-416-8448
etandrews@kennedy-center.org

• • •
Rachelle Roe

Rachelle Roe

Director of Public Relations, NSO & Classical


rbroe@kennedy-center.org

• • •
Michael Solomon

Michael Solomon

Senior Press Representative, Washington National Opera

202-416-8453
masolomon@kennedy-center.org

• • •
croppedPadgettHeadshot

Brendan Padgett

Senior Press Representative

202-416-8004
bepadgett@kennedy-center.org

• • •
Brittany Laeger

Brittany Laeger

Press Representative

202-416-8445
balaeger@kennedy-center.org

• • •
LaurenHolland

Lauren Holland

PR Coordinator, Non-Classical

202-416-8441
leholland@kennedy-center.org

• • •
MariaRodriguez_linkedin

Maria Rodriguez

PR Coordinator, Classical

202-416-8442
mtrodriguez@kennedy-center.org

• • •