The Kennedy Center

Public Relations

Washington Post

New conductor, packed evening

The buildup to a new music director arriving is longer than the lead-up to a favorite holiday in childhood. In the case of Gianandrea Noseda, it took almost two years — from January 2016, when he was announced as the next musical leader of the National Symphony Orchestra, to Thursday night, when, after major back surgery, the cancellation of his planned public debut, and the gala season opener in September, he took the NSO’s podium to lead his first subscription concert.

It was an exciting evening. The audience was abuzz. Time was, of course, when the prospect of a new music director of Noseda’s international stature and acclaim would sell out the house. Sellouts hardly happen for the NSO anymore, even with the fangirl marketing department generating reams of breathless promotional material touching on every possible stereotype about Italian passion, love and expressivity in posters all over the city. Still, the house was healthily sold, and you might even say the breathless promotion didn’t oversell the case. Noseda utterly charmed everyone in his remarks from the stage, but it was partly because of his palpable sincerity — his passion and expressivity, if you will. He clearly cares about the music and wants to bring it across.

Press Releases

Search

Title
From
To
Sort
Tags (Select one or more)

219 PRESS RELEASES FOUND

Contacts + Media Inquiries

Email us for additional information.

Contact Us
Eileen Andrews

Eileen Andrews

Vice President, Public Relations

202-416-8448
etandrews@kennedy-center.org

• • •
CORRECT For Web Roe (2)

Rachelle Roe

Director of Public Relations, NSO & Classical


rbroe@kennedy-center.org

• • •
29a9c60

Michelle Pendoley

Director of Public Relations, Non-Classical


mapendoley@kennedy-center.org

• • •
croppedPadgettHeadshot

Brendan Padgett

Senior Press Representative

202-416-8004
bepadgett@kennedy-center.org

• • •
Brittany Laeger

Brittany Laeger

Press Representative

202-416-8445
balaeger@kennedy-center.org

• • •
_DSC5371 copy CROPPED for site 2

Chanel Williams

Press Representative for Contemporary Culture

202-416-8447
cpwilliams@kennedy-center.org

• • •
LaurenHolland

Lauren Holland

PR Coordinator, Non-Classical

202-416-8441
leholland@kennedy-center.org

• • •
MariaRodriguez_linkedin

Maria Rodriguez

PR Coordinator, Classical

202-416-8442
mtrodriguez@kennedy-center.org

• • •