Public Relations

Washington Post

The Kennedy Center sets an inviting table for ‘The Gabriels’

Of late, the Kennedy Center is showing signs of coming to its dramatic senses. First, it made the Eisenhower Theater home to Ivo van Hove’s stunning revival of “A View From the Bridge.” Then it held open the center doors for Fiasco Theater’s exceptionally inventive “Into the Woods.” Now, in an indication that these selections might not have been flukes, another high-achieving production arrives on the Potomac: Richard Nelson’s gently captivating trilogy, “The Gabriels.”

The trio of plays, presented in the center’s warmly commodious upstairs Theater Lab, is subtitled “Election Year in the Life of One Family.” For those of you who’d rather spend a day pulling lint off sweaters than another moment reliving the campaign of 2016, fear not. Politics is a mere backdrop for the events of “The Gabriels,” which are set in a Rhinebeck, N.Y., kitchen on three days, in March, September and on election night 2016. What’s at stake as the Gabriels prepare and cook three meals, in real time, cuts much closer and with far more basic decency to the life you and I live than anything that was chewed on, shrilly, relentlessly, in the public sphere last year.

Press Releases

Search

Title
From
To
Sort
Tags (Select one or more)

90 PRESS RELEASES FOUND

Contacts + Media Inquiries

Email us for additional information.

Contact Us
Brittany Laeger

Brittany Laeger

Press Representative

202-416-8445
balaeger@kennedy-center.org

  • Education
  • Ballet
  • Dance
  • VSA
• • •
MariaRodriguez_linkedin

Maria Rodriguez

PR Coordinator, Classical

202-416-8442
mtrodriguez@kennedy-center.org

• • •
ErinWilliams

Erin Williams

PR Coordinator, Non-Classical


ebwilliams@kennedy-center.org

  • Millennium Stage
• • •
croppedPadgettHeadshot

Brendan Padgett

Senior Press Representative

202-416-8004
bepadgett@kennedy-center.org

  • Theater
  • Theater for Young Audiences
• • •
Eileen Andrews

Eileen Andrews

Vice President, Public Relations

(202) 416-8448
etandrews@kennedy-center.org

• • •
Kelly Carnes

Kelly Carnes

Director of Public Relations

(202) 416-8441
kmcarnes@kennedy-center.org

  • JFK Centennial
  • Hip Hop
  • Kennedy Center Honors
  • Mark Twain Prize
  • Expansion
  • Education
  • International Programming
  • Spring Gala
• • •
Rachelle Roe

Rachelle Roe

Director of Public Relations, NSO & Classical


rbroe@kennedy-center.org

  • National Symphony Orchestra
  • NSO @ Wolf Trap
  • NSO Pops
  • Fortas Chamber Music Concerts
  • Classical Music Programming
• • •
Michael Solomon

Michael Solomon

Senior Press Representative

(202) 416-8453
masolomon@kennedy-center.org

  • Washington National Opera
  • KC Jukebox
  • Classical Vocal Programs
• • •