Public Relations

Washington Post

Honoring the president who honored the arts

The Kennedy Center is synonymous with world-class performances, but many visitors don’t realize it is also the national memorial to America’s 35th president.

The arts center’s president, Deborah Rutter, wants to change that.

“Here’s this beloved president, and his memorial is a performing arts center, so what does that mean about the role of artists in our society?” Rutter said. “How do we authentically honor this man at this in­cred­ibly important time?”

These questions launched the John F. Kennedy Centennial, a year-long celebration of Kennedy’s 100th birthday that aims to raise the center’s visibility as his living memorial by bringing his words — etched into its marble facade — to life on its stages.

 

Press Releases

Search

Title
From
To
Sort
Tags (Select one or more)

107 PRESS RELEASES FOUND

Contacts + Media Inquiries

Email us for additional information.

Contact Us
Brittany Laeger

Brittany Laeger

Press Representative

202-416-8445
balaeger@kennedy-center.org

  • Education
  • Ballet
  • Dance
  • VSA
• • •
MariaRodriguez_linkedin

Maria Rodriguez

PR Coordinator, Classical

202-416-8442
mtrodriguez@kennedy-center.org

• • •
croppedPadgettHeadshot

Brendan Padgett

Senior Press Representative

202-416-8004
bepadgett@kennedy-center.org

  • Theater
  • Theater for Young Audiences
• • •
Eileen Andrews

Eileen Andrews

Vice President, Public Relations

(202) 416-8448
etandrews@kennedy-center.org

• • •
Kelly Carnes

Kelly Carnes

Director of Public Relations

(202) 416-8441
kmcarnes@kennedy-center.org

  • JFK Centennial
  • Hip Hop
  • Kennedy Center Honors
  • Mark Twain Prize
  • Expansion
  • Education
  • International Programming
  • Spring Gala
• • •
Rachelle Roe

Rachelle Roe

Director of Public Relations, NSO & Classical


rbroe@kennedy-center.org

  • National Symphony Orchestra
  • NSO @ Wolf Trap
  • NSO Pops
• • •
Michael Solomon

Michael Solomon

Senior Press Representative

(202) 416-8453
masolomon@kennedy-center.org

  • Washington National Opera
  • KC Jukebox
  • Classical Vocal Programs
• • •