Public Relations

NPR

In Pursuit Of A More Diverse Night At The Opera

Symphony orchestras and opera companies across the country continually ask the same question: How do we attract a younger and more diverse audience?

Saturday night, I discovered something of an answer at the Washington National Opera's east coast premiere of Champion, a four-year-old opera by jazz trumpeter and composer Terence Blanchard.

In 21 seasons of attending WNO performances, I've never witnessed a more diverse crowd.

The opera's themes of self-discovery, sexual orientation and the American Dream seem to resound even more loudly today than when the opera premiered in St. Louis in 2013. Perhaps as a result, audience members — straights and gays, many African-Americans, Hispanics and many young people — realized they would see characters who looked and acted like themselves on the stage.

 

Press Releases

Search

Title
From
To
Sort
Tags (Select one or more)

128 PRESS RELEASES FOUND

Contacts + Media Inquiries

Email us for additional information.

Contact Us
LaurenHolland

Lauren Holland

PR Coordinator, Non-Classical

202-416-8441
leholland@kennedy-center.org

• • •
Michael Solomon

Michael Solomon

Senior Press Representative, Washington National Opera

202-416-8453
masolomon@kennedy-center.org

• • •
Eileen Andrews

Eileen Andrews

Vice President, Public Relations

202-416-8448
etandrews@kennedy-center.org

• • •
Rachelle Roe

Rachelle Roe

Director of Public Relations, NSO & Classical


rbroe@kennedy-center.org

• • •
Brittany Laeger

Brittany Laeger

Press Representative

202-416-8445
balaeger@kennedy-center.org

• • •
MariaRodriguez_linkedin

Maria Rodriguez

PR Coordinator, Classical

202-416-8442
mtrodriguez@kennedy-center.org

• • •
croppedPadgettHeadshot

Brendan Padgett

Senior Press Representative

202-416-8004
bepadgett@kennedy-center.org

• • •